NGA Banner
NGA Banner

agency bullet US BGN Advisory Committee on Undersea Features (ACUF)

ACUF Information

The BGN Advisory Committee on Undersea Features (ACUF) was established in its present form in 1963 to recommend standardization policy for names of undersea features and to recommend official standard names based on proposals submitted by authorities in the field or usage on hydrographic and bathymetric charts.


The members come from various federal agencies and are experts in the fields of bathymetry and/or geomorphology. The members are nominated by BGN to the Secretary of the Interior. The National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) provides the secretariat for the committee.


Mr. Gerard (Gerry) J. Walter, Chair
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

Mr. Norman Z. Cherkis
Naval Research Laboratory (retired)

Mr. John McDonough
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Ms. Susan Russell-Robinson
United States Geological Survey

Dr. Alexander Shor
University Of Hawaii

Ms. Christine M. Taylor
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

Ms. Meredith Westington
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration


Mr. Jimmy Nerantzis
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency

Point of Contact: GEOnet Names Server
NGA Campus East
phone 571-557-5959, DSN 547-5959

last modified September 24, 2014

NGA Home
NGA Footer